Family Vacation

Earlier this month I went to Florida with my family on spring break. Since Christmas ended my family began counting down the days until this vacation. Pennsylvania gets a little dreary in the winter, so we were definitely looking forward to soaking in the Florida sunshine. Let’s just say that this vacation did not start out the way we planned………..

For starters my parents were and still currently are trying to sell our house. It had been on the market for a while now without any offers. It just so happened that we got an offer on our house when we left for vacation. Talk about bad timing and added stress. My parents spent most of the beginning of our vacation making negotiations with the realtor. This potential buyer did not only want to buy our house but also wanted to buy our furniture. They wanted practically the whole house’s furniture. I was definitely not willing to sell my bed! The thing I miss the most aside from my family and my dog when I’m at college is my bed. Thankfully my parents refused to negotiate the selling of any of our furniture.

While my parents were dealing with negotiating and playing phone tag with our realtor, my aunt and uncle, who were with us, found out that all the smoke detectors were going off in their house. Their next door neighbor called to tell them this because he could hear the alarms from inside his own house. The only other people who had keys to my aunt and uncle’s house were my parents who were on vacation with them! Slightly stressed my uncle began calling local locksmiths or what he thought were local locksmiths. We later figured out that was local to where he currently was aka Florida not Pennsylvania. At least now we look back on this mistake and laugh. The one time “Siri” does not understand what you are asking.

At the end of the day I sat at the kitchen table staring at an unusual object. My aunt told me it was her blood pressure monitor. She encouraged me to try it and so I did. A normal person’s blood pressure should be about 120/80, well my blood pressure was approximately 147/123. Well what can I say, sometimes life is stressful?! I’m twenty years old with high blood pressure, but can you blame me, our family vacation did not exactly start out very relaxing. My aunt took her blood pressure after me and she was almost at 200! I think it was safe to say that all my family including me was in need of a vacation.

After all the negotiating, alarms, and high blood pressure my family got to enjoy a stress free vacation. But what a journey it was to get there though! After all the chaos, I smiled turned to my aunt and said, “You just can’t make this stuff up!” We laughed about everything that night and carried that laughter into the rest of the week. Oh how I miss vacation! But it’s only approximately 13 days until Easter break!

Featured above is a picture of my cousin Bryce and me from the trip. Just wanted to provide some reassurance that we did have fun on this vacation, just not right away.

Leave a comment